All about kibbles

So my humans have been feeding me kibble for the past 1.5 months after they got tired of me swallowing my raw meals whole and sometimes choking myself in the process. What? I’m a beagle after all and which beagle doesn’t inhale good food?! πŸ˜€ So, they decided to put me on kibble because I can’t inhale my kibble and would need some time to chew my food. The result? Raw food takes me less than a minute to finish, vs kibble which takes me about 3-4 minutes to finish. My humans think that with kibble, I would have less risk of choking, but I don’t really care as long as it’s food and it tastes good!

20140119-084813.jpg
Breakfast, please.

I am currently on Canine Caviar Special Needs Dinner which is supposed to be good for weight management, but unfortunately the vet had said I gained too much weight after switching to kibble! How could she….. I think I’ve been eating much less than when I was on raw! I get only 1 to 1.5 cups a day. My sister and I finished a 27lbs bag in a month.

20140119-085153.jpg
Our 2 months supply!

So far our poops have been nice and firm, and apart from weight problems (according to some humans!) we did just fine on this brand.

But lately my humans found out from dogfoodadvisor that this kibble we’ve been eating is only rated 2 stars! And they’re not impressed that they’ve been buying crappy dog food and burning a large hole in their pockets! (Canine Caviar is quite an expensive brand here.)

Previously I’ve tried many expensive brands including Orijen, California Natural, Addiction, Nature’s Variety Instinct, Barking Heads….. and they all gave me smelly, runny poop! It’s much worse for my sister Spring, because she has such a sensitive stomach and most foods give her bad gas and explosive diarrhea….. the worst being Nature’s Variety Instinct! So far, Canine Caviar is the only brand that didn’t give us bad poops.

So my humans are contemplating whether or not to go through another round of looking for the best suitable dog food (which I’m very excited about because I get to eat all the different kinds of yummy food!). What do you think? Can dog food ratings be trusted?

As much as I love to stuff my face with as much food as I can, I hope I can lose a little bit of weight too. Just yesterday, a neighbour who was walking her golden retriever stopped at out gate to say hello to me, and when she saw me, she exclaimed loudly to my human, “Omg, she is so bigggg!” Ouchhhhh, that kinda hurt my feelings! She hasn’t seen me for just a couple of weeks and now she says I’m fat?! Ohhh I am so sad! 😦

20140119-092218.jpg
Ohhhh it is such hard work being a fat beagle….. I think I need a treat to console myself……

20140119-093211.jpg
Maybe a nap after all that exercise……being a dog is hard work!

Categories: food exploits, greedy | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “All about kibbles

  1. scarlybobs

    Hahaha Cookie you are gorgeous! πŸ™‚

    Also, if your owners worry about you eating your food too quickly, they can always try feeding you from a puzzle feeder such as a Kong Wobbler or Buster Cube…we do this with Kasper, he is a food inhaler too! It’s also extra stimulation to help tire him out, always a positive hehe πŸ˜›

    I have heard lots of other dog owners rave about Blue Buffalo and Taste Of The Wild, but that is all I know as I live in the UK πŸ˜› I hope you can find a food that works for you and Spring πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much for the tips! We might give TOTW a try and see how it goes. We haven’t seen Blue Buffalo around here except at the vet’s.
      My humans used to love using the kong wobbler, but unfortunately for them, I’ve learned to get the food out quickly with my secret trick. (Psssst…. Kasper, i will share the secret trick with you when your human is not looking!) *evil beagle grin*

      • scarlybobs

        Hahaha Cookie don’t do that, he already gets it out fast enough!!

        Thankfully we have a puzzle feeder similar to the Kong Wobbler but you can change the size of the hole the kibble comes out of to make it harder…we always make it super hard so meal times last about half an hour haha we are so cruel πŸ˜›

      • Ohhh I feel for him! 5 minutes is already too long for me! Don’t you know a dog’s tastebuds lies in our stomach…..at least I’m pretty sure this is true for me and Kasper πŸ™‚

  2. It’s a good thing you don’t inhale your kibble. Milo inhales his so we have to feed him in small increments to keep him from choking and sometimes he STILL chokes on his kibble! It sounds like your humans are trying their best to research good foods for you. And we all think you are beautiful no matter what you weigh! πŸ™‚

    • Ahh Milo just wants to enjoy his food beagle style! I can relate to his enthusiasm πŸ™‚ Thanks for the sweet compliments! I hope losing a few pounds would make me look prettier…..and get me more treats…. *evil beagle grin*

  3. You ain’t fat Cookie… you’re just a well rounded dog. And as you said “being a dog is hard work” πŸ˜‰

  4. I’m sorry they think you’re fat Cookie 😦 I eat Wellness Simple because I have food allergies- can you get that there? It seems to be a really good food, and works for my sensitive tummy. Then you can have more treats again!
    Reggie

    • Thanks for the tip! Not sure if we have it here but I will bug my humans to look for it. They seem more concerned about me getting an upset tummy….well I just care about eating more! πŸ™‚

  5. Cookie, how overweight are you? Sophie has had some issues with weight gain lately as well =/ We cut her to 1 cup of food a day, but she constantly acts like she is starved!

    She also inhales her kibble…unfortunately I think it is just what beagles do!

    • I am 17.5kg! The vet said that I should cut down to less than 16kg. You could try feeding Sophie her meals from a kong, but I’m sure she would feel terribly impatient, i would too! πŸ˜€ what my human did was to gradually decrease the amount of kibble thinking that I won’t notice the difference. Sneaky!

Pee here!

Blog at WordPress.com.

Twilight Bark UK

The go-to blog for all things dog

Bonnies Dog Blog NI

Dont forget to check out our interactive map of dog friendly places in Northern Ireland!

With Love, Jordan

A Texas girl and her thoughts.

SwittersB & Exploring

Photography, Fly fishing, Life, Visuals & Fun

claycreationsbydanies

My pottery creations on and off the wheel.

Animal Care and House Sitting

We care for your animals, house and garden.

Bark!

Dogs in the news and the truth behind the headlines

sanseilife

Food . Culture . Community . Japanese . Sansei

life as seen by me

how my mind works????

Pet-a-Go-Go

Where fur babies are family!

Sparky the Beagle

365 Days of our Life Together

natashariverablog

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Barneyland

About dog behavior, funny anecdotes, dog fashion and just stories out of the daily life of Barney

Everything About Jared

Caring for your canine friends

